Alberta SouthWest Wins 4 Marketing Awards
At the 2014 Economic Developers Alberta annual Awards of Excellence in Kananaskis last week, Alberta SouthWest was recognized with four awards for marketing and economic development initiatives.

For Immediate Release

Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) Recognizes Excellence in Economic Development in Alberta
Awards in Four Categories Presented to Individuals and Communities in the Province
April 11, 2014 Kananaskis, AB- Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) presented its annual Awards of Excellence during the Minister’s Dinner and Awards Banquet at the Delta Kananaskis Lodge. These awards honour Alberta communities and individuals for excellence in business attraction, retention, expansion and marketing.

The Economic Developer of the Year Award was presented to Natalie Gibson for her contribution to the economic development profession.
The Alex Metcalfe Awards acknowledge individuals or agencies for excellence in economic development relating to the attraction, expansion or retention of business in Alberta. This year, the Alex Metcalfe Awards went to:

Best Economic Development Project:

◦ (Small Community) – Woodlands County & Town of Whitecourt
◦ (Medium Community)- Alberta SouthWest REDA

The EDA Marketing Alberta Awards were presented to:


◦ (Small Community) – Town of Vermilion
◦ (Medium Community) – Town of High River
◦ (Large Community) – Economic Development Lethbridge

Special Events, Programs or Campaigns:

◦ (Small Community) – Lamont County
◦ (Medium Community) – Airdrie Economic Development
◦ (Large Community) – Economic Development Lethbridge

Creative Innovations:

◦ (Small Community) – Town of Vermilion
◦ (Medium Community) – Alberta SouthWest REDA
◦ (Large Community) – Calgary Economic Development


◦ (Small Community) – County of Northern Lights
◦ (Large Community) – Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Advertising (print or electronic):

◦ (Medium Community) – Alberta SouthWest REDA
◦ (Large Community) – Eastern Alberta Trade Corridor

Creative Innovations (Promotional Items):

◦ (Medium Community) – Rocky View County
◦ (Large Community) - Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Social Media in a Marketing Campaign:

◦ (Small Community) – Town of Vermilion
◦ (Medium Community) – Alberta SouthWest REDA
◦ (Large Community) - Calgary Economic Development

Branding-Destination Marketing

◦ (Small Community) – Town of Bon Accord
◦ (Large Community) - Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Finally, the President’s Award recognizes an individual in the Association that has made a significant contribution to the organization. This year’s Award was presented to Kent McMullin from the City of Edmonton. Kent has served on the EDA board for over a decade in various capacities including, most recently, as 2012-13 President and 2013-14 Immediate Past President. Kent’s commitment and dedication to both the organization and the economic development profession have been significant. His work was also recognized with a Lifetime Membership in EDA.
Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) is the only professional organization for economic developers in Alberta. 2014 is the 40th Anniversary of EDA's commitment to advancing the economic development profession by providing information, networking and educational opportunities. It is a not-for-profit organization governed by a volunteer board of directors who represent the interests of its membership as a whole.
For more information contact:
Leann Hackman-Carty, Chief Executive Officer
Work: (403)-214-0224
Cell: (403)-807-7746
[email protected]