Alberta SouthWest a finalist at Travel Alberta ceremony
Press release

Alberta SouthWest received recognition as one of three finalists for “Tourism Community of the Year” at the Travel Alberta Awards ceremony in Banff on Monday October 22, 2012. This award is designed to acknowledge a collective and successful effort on the part of a community to work together to promote or support tourism.

“This close communication has led to creating a strong sense of brand and identity, inspiring innovative promotional initiatives and building our tourism industry capacity,” says Bev Thornton, the AlbertaSW executive director. “The Alberta SouthWest tourism initiatives reflect the commitment and energy and engagement of our tourism operators,” she says. “These relationships are the basis of cross-promotion and support for each other.

Thornton says Alberta SouthWest communities have come to understand that tourism marketing opens the door to investment for the area. “Promoting our amazing cultural history, landscapes and recreation builds awareness of the region and attracts people to come to Alberta SouthWest and discover their own opportunities.”

AlbertaSW has had a banner year, winning the 2012 Summit International Bronze Award in the Community Website category, three 2012 Economic Developers of Alberta (EDA) Awards of Excellence and multiple awards from Economic Developers Association of Canada (EDAC), including the top national award for 2012, the EDAC Cup.